Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Ads By Google
Djibouti pulls out of 2012 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup

Saturday, November 10, 2012

Ads By Google
KAMPALA (Xinhua) -- The Djibouti national football team has pulled out of the forthcoming 2012 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup to be held in the Ugandan capital Kampala later this month.

Rogers Mulindwa, a member of the Communication team of the Council for East and Central African Football Associations (Cecafa), told Xinhua in an interview on Monday that the Horn of African country confirmed that they will not be able to make it for the event scheduled to start on Nov. 24.

The Djibouti Football Federation has been having administrative issues and is set to have polls on Nov. 10.

In June this year, Djibouti ’s football clubs suspended the former FA President and instead elected the deputy Secretary General Souleiman Waberi as new president.

But, because of lack of international observation, the Federation of International Football Association did not accept the result and instead called for another election which will be held on Saturday.

Mulindwa said Cecafa is now planning on which countries to accept as guest sides after Malawi, Zimbabwe and Cameroon all applied to take part in the event.

“African champions Zambia cannot play in this event since the rules of Confederation of African Football indicate that before the Africa Cup of Nations any team that will be taking part cannot participate in any other tournament few months to the event. But Ethiopia who are part of the Cecafa membership and qualified for the Nations Cup will take part,” he said.

Uganda Cranes are the defending champions of the regional trophy after beating Rwandain the final last year in Dar es Salaam , Tanzania .

The sponsors East African Breweries Limited through their Tusker brand have injected 450,000 U.S. dollars in the event to cater for the transport of teams, accommodation, meals and cash prizes of the best three teams.

The teams that have so far confirmed participation include Uganda , Kenya , Tanzania ,Zanzibar , Eritrea , Somalia , Rwanda , Burundi , Ethiopia , Sudan and new comers South Sudan.

Source: Xinhua


Post your comments