Today from Hiiraan Online:  _
Ilwad Elman named 2016 African Female Youth of the Year

Hiiraan Online
Monday, January 2, 2017

Mogadishu (HOL)- The Africa Youth Awards have announced the 2016 winners after considering 170 nominees from 145 countries.

Somalia's Ilwad Elman was voted as African Youth Female of the Year. Ilwad is the director of programs and development for Elman Peace and Human Rights Centre in Mogadishu. Albert Kusi, who hails from Ghana, won the African Male Youth of the Year award for his work with the "Success Conference". The event is West Africa's biggest annual youth empowerment summit.

Other notable winners are Souhila Ben Lachhab (Algeria) for Musician of the year and Teacher Mampire (Uganda) for Discovery of the Year. Mohammed Ibrahim Jega (Nigeria) CEO of Emerge Tech Africa was also voted as 2016 Entrepreneur of the Year.

Full List: 2016 Africa Youth Awards Winners

Ilwad Elman, Elman Peace and Human Rights Center (Somalia) – African Youth of the Year (Female)
Albert Kusi – LEC Foundation (Ghana) – African Youth of the Year (Male)
Mohammed Ibrahim Jega, Emerge Tech Africa (Nigeria) – Entrepreneur of the Year
Souhila Ben Lachhab (Algeria) – Musician of the Year
Teacher Mpamire (Uganda) – Discovery of the Year
Christopher Seagateng, Botswana Jobs for Graduates (Botswana) – Award For Youth Empowerment
Zixtech Organisation (Cameroon) – Social Enterprise of the Year
Manasseh Azure Awuni, Joy 99.7 FM (Ghana) – Journalist of the Year
Kofi Osei-Kusi, Osei-Kusi Foundation (Ghana) – Special Recognition Award
Gakii Biriri (Kenya) – Social Entrepreneur of the Year
City Rydes Limited (Kenya) – Startup of the Year
Nana Diaby, Phiphi Plus (Mali) – Media Personality of the Year
Olalekan Ayodele Sipasi, L’afrika Integrated Farms (Nigeria) – Award For Agriculture
Nuhu Ibrahim Alabura, Indian Dental Association (Nigeria) – Health Personality of the Year
Muhire Jean Claude, Young African Leaders Forum (Rwanda) – Leader of the Year
Adyne-Africa Diaspora Youth Network Europe (Somalia) – Civil Society of the Year
Dirboga Irenee Bakoh, Sukuvi (Togo) – Award for Education
Sylivia Kakyo, Kakyo Girls Initiative (Uganda) – Advocate of the Year

The Awards celebrations will be hosted during the 2017 Heads of State Summit in Addis Ababa. The event will be in partnership with the African Youth Commission, Avance Media, Global Skills Exchange, My Naija Naira 88 Creatives and Dream Ambassadors Foundation GH.


Click here